Hickey, Davidson Earn All-Conference in Smallbore
Courtesy: VMIKeydets.com

CHARLESTON, S.C. – Paced by the efforts of senior Andrew Hickey and freshman William Davidson, the VMI men’s rifle team finds itself in second place at the SoCon Rifle Championship after the first day of competition Saturday in Charleston, South Carolina.

The VMI men’s team is in second place with 2234 points after the smallbore competition while the VMI women sit in seventh place with 2138 points. North Georgia won the smallbore team title with 2270 points led by Smallbore Athlete of the Year Ruthanne Conner. This year’s SoCon championship is the first league rifle championships since 1985. Georgia Southern was in third with 2201, followed by The Citadel with 2191, Wofford at 2164, The Citadel’s women’s squad at 2139, VMI’s women at 2138 and UAB, which does not usually field a smallbore team, at 2110.

Hickey, from Silver Spring, Maryland, earned first team All-SoCon distinction after shooting a 417.5 for fourth place in the individual final. Davidson, from Joshua, Texas, achieved second team All-SoCon honors by registering a 377.5 in the individual final for eighth place in the standings.

UNG swept the top three spots in the final, with Conner claiming first place with a score of 449.4 to edge Sanctuary (447.2). Abernathy was a distant third at 428.6, followed by Hickey (417.5), Holcombe (407.8), Curren (397.6), Shaw (379.8) and Davidson (377.5).

The tournament concludes Sunday with the air rifle competition. The SoCon will crown team air rifle and overall champions as well as an air rifle individual champion. Sunday’s air rifle competition gets underway at 8:30 a.m. with preparation and sighting, followed by the first relay at 8:45.

Smallbore team scores
1. North Georgia 2270
2. VMI 2234
3. Georgia Southern 2201
4. The Citadel 2191
5. Wofford 2164
6. The Citadel-W 2139
7. VMI-W 2138
8. UAB 2110

Smallbore individual final
1. Ruthanne Conner, UNG 449.4
2. Tobin Sanctuary, UNG 447.2
3. Andrew Abernathy, UNG 428.6
4. Andrew Hickey, VMI 417.5
5. Cierra Holcombe, WOF 407.8
6. Selina Curren, UAB 397.6
7. Brianna Shaw, UNG 379.8
8. William Davidson, VMI 377.5

Smallbore Athlete of the Year
Ruthanne Conner, North Georgia

All-Southern Conference Smallbore
First team
Andrew Abernathy, North Georgia
Ruthanne Conner, North Georgia
Tobin Sanctuary, North Georgia
Andrew Hickey, VMI
Cierra Holcombe, Wofford

Second team
Selina Curren, UAB
Lilly Vonderau, UAB
Courtney Weekley, Georgia Southern
Brianna Shaw, North Georgia
William Davidson, VMI