VMI Wrestling Set for SoCon Championship
Courtesy: SportsPhotoGuy.com for VMI
Related Links

VMI Wrestling Set for SoCon Championship

LEXINGTON, Va. – The VMI wrestling team is set to compete in the 2019 Southern Conference Championships Sunday, hosted by Appalachian State University in Boone, N.C. The Keydets finished the 2018-19 regular season in fourth place in the SoCon standings with a 3-3 record, the program’s best league mark since the 2006-07 campaign.

Multimedia: Watch Live

SoCon Wrestler of the Year Neal Richards enters competition in the Holmes Convention Center as the #1 seed at 174 pounds. Dom Gallo is the #4 seed at 141 pounds, as is Derek Shockey at 125. Max Gallahan earned a #5 seed at 184 and Tre Momon is also a fifth seed at 285. Chris Beck is #6 at 197 and Luke Nicksic (165), Darren Ostrander (157), Zach Schmidt (149) and Cliff Conway (133) will try to work their way up from #7 spots.

In addition to the team title at stake, the SoCon Championship serves as an individual qualifier for the NCAA Championships to be held in Pittsburgh from March 21-23.

Competition will begin at 10 a.m. on Sunday, while the semifinals are scheduled for noon, with consolation quarterfinals set for 2 p.m., followed by consolation semifinals. Consolation finals are scheduled to begin at 5:30 p.m., and the championship finals for the 10 weight classes (as well as any true place matches, if needed) will start at 7 p.m.


125 (1 NCAA allocation)

1. Alonzo Allen, Chattanooga

2. Korbin Meink, Campbell

3. DeAndre Swinson-Barr, Appalachian State

4. Derek Shockey, VMI


133 (1 NCAA allocation)

1. Noah Gosner, Campbell

2. Codi Russell, Appalachian State

3. Kyle Gorant, Davidson

4. Brandon Bright, Gardner-Webb

5. Jake Huffine, Chattanooga

6. Charles Kearney, The Citadel

7. Cliff Conway, VMI


141 (1 NCAA allocation)

1. Chris Debien, Chattanooga

2. Nathan Boston, Campbell

3. Irvin Enriquez, Appalachian State

4. Dom Gallo, VMI

5. Blake Mulkey, Gardner-Webb

6. Caleb Zibell, Davidson

7. Keegan Connolly


149 (2 NCAA allocations)

1. Joshua Heil, Campbell

2. Matthew Zovistoski, Appalachian State

3. Tanner Smith, Chattanooga

4. Selwyn Porter, The Citadel

5. Will Baldwin, Davidson

6. Chase McKinney, Gardner-Webb

7. Zach Schmitt, VMI


157 (1 NCAA allocation)

1. Benjamin Barton, Campbell

2. Rian Burris, The Citadel

3. Tanner Smith, Chattanooga

4. Angel Najar, Appalachian State

5. Evan Schenk, Gardner-Webb

6. Tony Palumbo, Davidson

7. Darren Ostrander, VMI


165 (1 NCAA allocation)

1. Tyler Marinelli, Gardner-Webb

2. Michael Elliott, Appalachian State

3. Drew Nicholson, Chattanooga

4. Dazjon Casto, The Citadel

5. Cameron Pine, Campbell

6. Hunter Costa, Davidson

7. Luke Niksic, VMI


174 (2 NCAA allocations)

1. Neal Richards, VMI

2. Andrew Morgan, Campbell

3. Thomas Flitz, Appalachian State

4. Kyle Homet, Gardner-Webb

5. Hunter Fortner, Chattanooga 
6. Noah Satterfield, Davidson

7. Kyle Kretzer, The Citadel


184 (1 NCAA allocations)

1. Alan Clothier, Appalachian State

2. Chris Kober, Campbell

3. Dominic Lampe, Chattanooga

4. Conor Fenn, Davidson

5. Max Gallahan, VMI

6. Martin Duane, The Citadel

7. Christian Salter, Gardner-Webb


197 (2 NCAA allocations)

1. Randall Diabe, Appalachian State

2. Sawyer Root, The Citadel

3. Anthony Perrine, Gardner-Webb

4. Rod Jones, Chattanooga

5. Austin McNeil, Campbell

6. Chris Beck, VMI

7. Finaly Holston, Davidson


285 (1 NCAA allocation)

1. Cary Miller, Appalachian State

2. Connor Tolley, Chattanooga

3. Odgerel Batkhishig, Campbell

4. Michael McAleavey, The Citadel

5. Trey Momon, VMI

6. Jack Trautman, Gardner-Webb