Wrestling Heads to SoCon Championships
Courtesy: SportsPhotoGuy.com for VMI
Related Links

Live Streaming

ASHEVILLE, N.C. – The Southern Conference Wrestling Championship will take place Saturday at The Citadel’s McAlister Field House in Charleston, South Carolina, with the SoCon title and 18 NCAA allocations on the line.

The tournament is slated for a 10 a.m. start with doors opening at 9 a.m. The championship round is set to begin at 7 p.m.

Six of last year’s SoCon individual champions will be back in the field this year, though two of them are in different weight classes. The SoCon was allocated 18 spots for the NCAA Championships, with three each at 125 pounds, 184 and heavyweight, two each at 149 and 157 and one each at the eight other weights.

VMI sophomore 157-pounder Neal Richards, who earned a true second-place finish last year to qualify for the NCAA tournament, looks for a repeat accomplishment this year by earning a top-two finish. Seeded No. 3, Richards’ best shot of qualifying for NCAAs is a top-two finish but there is still a shot for an at-large bid should he not make it to the championship bout Saturday night or win the true second-place bout.

Senior 125-pounder Dalton Henderson, seeded No. 5 in a difficult weight class, seeks a top-three finish in his division to be able to qualify for the NCAA tournament.

The NCAA Wrestling Championships are slated for March 16-18 at the Scottrade Center in St. Louis, Missouri.

2017 Southern Conference Wrestling Championship Schedule
9 a.m. – Doors open
10 a.m. – First-round matches
12 p.m. – Semifinals
2 p.m. – Consolation quarterfinals (consolation semifinals immediately after)
5:30 p.m. – Consolation finals
7 p.m. – Finals, true-place matches and award presentation

125 (3 NCAA allocations)
1. Vito Pasone, Appalachian State
2. Alonzo Allen, Chattanooga
3. Freddie Rodriguez, SIUE
4. Nathan Kraisser, Campbell
5. Dalton Henderson, VMI
6. Landon LoAlbo, Gardner-Webb
7. Patrick Kearney, The Citadel
8. No entry, Davidson

133 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Chris Debien, Chattanooga
2. Colby Smith, Appalachian State
3. Jonathan Ryan, Campbell
4. John Muldoon, SIUE
5. Philip Anderson, Gardner-Webb
6. Michael Hulcher, VMI
7. Andrew Szalwinski, The Citadel
8. Dustin Runzo, Davidson

141 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Josh Heil, Campbell
2. Chase Zemenak, Chattanooga
3. Irvin Enriquez, Appalachian State
4. Douglas Gudenburr, The Citadel
5. Trevor Feagans, SIUE
6. Ryan Hull, Gardner-Webb
7. John Reed, VMI
8. Hunter Costa, Davidson

149 (2 NCAA allocations)
1. Matt Zovistoski, Appalachian State
2. Ty Buckiso, The Citadel
3. John Fahy, SIUE
4. Chris Vassar, Gardner-Webb
5. Ben Barton, Campbell
6. Stevan Smith, VMI
7. Roman Boylen, Chattanooga
8. Aiden Conroy, Davidson

157 (2 NCAA allocations)
1. Aaron Walker, The Citadel
2. Austin Kraisser, Campbell
3. Neal Richards, VMI
4. Ryan Mosely, Gardner-Webb
5. Gavin Londoff, Appalachian State
6. Karsten Van Velsor, SIUE
7. Tony Palumbo, Davidson
8. Dylanger Potter, Chattanooga

165 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Justin Lampe, Chattanooga
2. Tyler Marinelli, Gardner-Webb
3. Quentin Perez, Campbell
4. Forrest Prybysz, Appalachian State
5. Clayton Bass, SIUE
6. Cade Kiely, VMI
7. Ruston Hill II, The Citadel
8. Noah Satterfield, Davidson

174 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Jake Residori, SIUE
2. Austin Trott, Gardner-Webb
3. Sean Mappes, Chattanooga
4. John Weiss, Campbell
5. Shabaka Johns, VMI
6. Conor Fenn, Davidson
7. Martin Duane, The Citadel
8. Angel Najar, Appalachian State

184 (3 NCAA allocations)
1. Ville Heino, Campbell
2. Bryce Carr, Chattanooga
3. Hunter Gamble, Gardner-Webb
4. David Peters-Logue, Appalachian State
5. Konner Pritchard, Davidson
6. Chris Beck, VMI
7. Jake Godinez, SIUE
8. Chandler Sambets, The Citadel

197 (1 NCAA allocation)
1. Sawyer Root, The Citadel
2. Jake Tindle, SIUE
3. Willie Bivens III, Campbell
4. Clay Dent, Chattanooga
5. Randall Diabe, Appalachian State
6. Kyle Ash, Gardner-Webb
7. Taylor Thomas, VMI
8. Ryan Devlin, Davidson

285 (3 NCAA allocations)
1. Denzel Dejournette, Appalachian State
2. Jere Heino, Campbell
3. Jared Johnson, Chattanooga
4. Jake McKiernan, SIUE
5. Boyce Cornwell, Gardner-Webb
6. Joe Bexley, The Citadel
7. Will Cooley, Davidson
8. Thomas Shea-Roop, VMI