Beck, Kiely Named to SoCon All-Freshman Team
Related Links

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – After turning in solid freshman campaigns for the VMI wrestling program, freshmen Chris Beck and Cade Kiely were named to the Southern Conference All-Freshman Team announced Wednesday morning by the league.

Beck, a native of Norfolk, Virginia, won eight bouts during the season, including three dual bouts and two SoCon matches. During the year, he pinned American’s Abraham Correa-Medina at the Southeast Open as well as Merchant Marine’s Joe Fiore at the All-Academy Championships. In SoCon action, he defeated The Citadel’s Chandler Sambets by a 3-0 decision and SIUE’s Jake Godinez by a 3-1 decision.

Other highlights included topping George Mason’s Austin Harrison by a 4-1 decision and logging five bout wins in tournament action.

Hailing from Round Hill, Virginia, Cade Kiely won six bouts during the year, including three in dual action and two in the Southern Conference. In early January, he defeated George Mason’s Daniel Mika by a 7-3 decision and in February registered a win over Davidson’s Noah Satterfield by a 6-2 decision. He earned a technical fall over Northwestern’s Braxton Cody by a 16-1 score at the Keystone Classic in addition to tallying three bout wins in tournament action.

The duo will compete at this Saturday’s Southern Conference Championships in Charleston, South Carolina.

In other news around the league, App State’s Denzel Dejournette became the first wrestler to be named SoCon Wrestler of the Year in consecutive years since App State’s Travis Drake in 2001 and 2002. VMI’s Leslie Apedoe earned the award in 1998 and 1999 for the Keydets.

The Citadel’s Aaron Walker becomes just the third wrestler to be named all-conference four times since the coaches began voting on the award in 1993 (before that, the tournament champions at each class were deemed all-conference). He went 28-0 in SoCon duals in his career.

2016-17 SoCon Wrestler of the Year
Denzel Dejournette, R-Sr., 285, Appalachian State

2016-17 SoCon Freshman of the Year
Austin Kraisser, 157, Campbell

2016-17 All-Southern Conference Team
125 Vito Pasone, R-Sr., Appalachian State
133 Chris Debien, So., Chattanooga
141 Josh Heil, Fr., Campbell
149 Ty Buckiso, Jr., The Citadel
157 Aaron Walker, Gr., The Citadel
165 Justin Lampe, Jr., Chattanooga
174 Jake Residori, R-Sr., SIUE
184 Ville Heino, R-Sr., Campbell
197 Sawyer Root, So., The Citadel
285 Denzel Dejournette, R-Sr., Appalachian State

2016-17 All-Freshman Team
Gavin Londoff, Appalachian State
Colby Smith, Appalachian State
Ben Barton, Campbell
Austin Kraisser, Campbell
Josh Heil, Campbell
Douglas Gudenburr, The Citadel
Ruston Hill II, The Citadel
Dylanger Potter, Chattanooga
Chris Beck, VMI
Cade Kiely, VMI