Sabourin Paces Men's XC to Fifth-Place Finish at SoCon's
Related Links

SPARTANBURG, S.C. - Kyle Sabourin led VMI for the first time in his career, finishing 17th overall to pace VMI cross country to a fifth-place finish at the 2017 SoCon Championships, contested Saturday in Spartanburg, S.C.

Sabourin crossed the line in 25:24 on the 8K course, while Jay Broom was 28th in 26:12. Micah Ellington finished 37th in 26:43, while Carlos Fernandes placed 45th in 27:08. Jackson Betts rounded out VMI's top five with a 49th-place finish, timing in at 27:16.

As a team, the Keydets finished nearly directly between fourth-place Chattanooga (120) and sixth-place UNCG (195) with 160 points. Furman won the race with just 15 markers, well ahead of ETSU's 61 and Samford's 78. Western Carolina (200), Wofford (211), The Citadel (225) and Mercer (233) rounded out the team standings.

"Kyle Sabourin had an outstanding race with his 17th-place finish to lead us today," said VMI head coach Dr. Drew Ludtke. "Jay Broom worked very hard to place second for our team. We were able to have three freshmen compete today and two sophomores. We left some good young talent at home and plan to return healthy and strong in the coming years. I am excited to see what the team will do in the coming years with the young talent coming through the system. We have had an explosion of recruits come in and have really made practices competitive. I am very proud of this team for all of the hard work they put in. To the credit of the team and their work ethic, they may have worked a little too hard this summer and this season. They will learn to train more accurately and peak more properly. I could not ask for a better team of workers and teammates."

Other Keydets in action included Tripp Fitch (50th/27:17), Adam Roberto (59th/27:35) and Jake Mazziotta (65th/27:56). Jahanzib Shahbaz, who had led VMI in all but one race this season, was scored with a DNF.

Men’s Team Scores
1. Furman – 15
2. ETSU – 61
3. Samford – 78
4. Chattanooga – 120
5. VMI – 160
6. UNCG -- 195
7. Western Carolina – 200
8. Wofford – 211
9. The Citadel – 225
10. Mercer -- 233

Men’s First-Team All-SoCon
1. Aaron Templeton, Furman
2. Josh Brickell, Furman
3. Tanner Hinkle, Furman
4. Frank Lara, Furman
5. Troy Reeder, Furman
6. Arsène Guillorel, Samford
7. Mason Coppi, Furman

Men’s Second-Team All-SoCon
8. Daniel Bernal, Furman
9. Ryan Adams, Furman
10. Ben Varghese, ETSU
11. Jake Ogden, Furman
12. Ben Bryant, Samford
13. Noah Charles, ETSU
14. James Garst, ETSU

Men’s All-Freshman Team
8. Daniel Bernal, Furman
10. Ben Varghese, ETSU
13. Noah Charles, ETSU
21. Louis Morris, ETSU
26. Soresa Gemechu, ETSU
29. Ben Garner, Samford
35. Juan Rodriguez, UNCG
38. Josiah Jaqua, Mercer

Men’s Freshman of the Year
Daniel Bernal, Furman

Men’s Runner of the Year
Aaron Templeton, Furman

Men’s Pinnacle Award Recipient
Josh Brickell, Furman

Men’s Coach of the Year
Robert Gary, Furman