VMIKeydets.com - The Official Site of Virginia Military Institute Athletics
Birsner Announces 2018 Lacrosse Schedule
Courtesy: VMIKeydets.com  
Release: 10/25/2017
Share |
Courtesy: SportsPhotoGuy.com for VMI

LEXINGTON, Va. – Wrapping up fall practices, VMI head lacrosse coach Jon Birsner announced Wednesday afternoon his team’s 2018 schedule.

The Keydets open the slate with two exhibitions against powerful Division III opponents in Salisbury (Jan. 30) and Roanoke College (Feb. 10) to prepare for the rest of a challenging schedule.

"I'm very excited how our schedule has come together in my third year at VMI,” Birsner said. “We have been able to add very challenging scrimmages to help us prepare for the early part of our conference schedule. We'll be playing in eight different states this spring and I'm excited to continue to connect our team with all of our incredibly supportive alumni on the road."

The regular season begins with three games on the road starting with Manhattan on Saturday, Feb. 17, in Riverdale, New York. A week later, the Keydets head back to the greater New York City region to take on the New Jersey Institute of Technology, an opponent the Keydets have defeated twice the past two seasons. The opening road swing concludes with a game at Mount St. Mary’s on Saturday, Mar. 3, in Emmitsburg, Maryland.

Wagner will be VMI’s opponent for its home opener on Tuesday, March 6, a foe the Keydets have nearly defeated every year the past three seasons but come up a bit short. Richmond then comes to Lexington on Saturday, March 10, for VMI’s Southern Conference opener at noon on Drill Field No. 2. The Keydets then face Monmouth to finish the three-game home stand on Tuesday, March 13 at 3:30 p.m.

Sans the Air Force game in Colorado Springs a few days later and the non-conference Hampton game on March 31, the Keydets will have a full week to prepare for each Southern Conference opponent. The Keydets host Furman on Saturday, March 24 a week before welcoming the Hampton Pirates.

VMI then faces Mercer (Apr. 7) and High Point (Apr. 13) on the road before a Senior Day matchup against Bellarmine on Saturday, Apr. 21 at noon. The regular season concludes with a match at Jacksonville on Saturday, April 28, in Jacksonville, Florida.

The Southern Conference tournament will be held May 3-5 in Richmond, Virginia, hosted by the University of Richmond.


2018 VMI Lacrosse Schedule

Tue., Jan. 30 … at Salisbury (Scrimmage) … TBA
Sat., Feb. 10 … at Roanoke (Scrimmage) … TBA
Sat., Feb. 17 … at Manhattan … TBA
Sat., Feb. 24 … at NJIT … TBA
Sat., Mar. 3 … at Mount St. Mary’s … TBA
Tue., Mar. 6 … Wagner … 3:30 p.m.
Sat., Mar. 10 … Richmond* … 12 p.m.
Tue., Mar. 13 … Monmouth … 3:30 p.m.
Sat., Mar. 17 … at Air Force* … TBA
Sat., Mar. 24 … Furman* … 12 p.m.
Sat., Mar. 31 … Hampton … 12 p.m.
Sat., Apr. 7 … at Mercer* … TBA
Fri., Apr. 13 … at High Point* … 7 p.m.
Sat., Apr. 21 … Bellarmine* … 12 p.m.
Sat., Apr. 28 … at Jacksonville* … TBA


VMI Lacrosse
     Instagram


To remove your e-mail address from our mailing list, please click on Customer Care and select Remove From Mailing List from the Area of Interest list and specify your e-mail address. Note: This does not apply to opt-in e-mail. To modify your opt-in e-mail deliveries, log in to the site and modify your preferences. Customer Care