Four Keydets Named Preseason All-Conference
Related Links

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – With the start of the college football season just weeks away, four VMI football players were named to the Preseason All-Southern Conference teams announced by the league Monday afternoon at the 2019 SoCon Football Media Day in Spartanburg, South Carolina.

Senior wide receiver Javeon Lara was named to the first team offense while junior quarterback Reece Udinski was named to the second team offense. On the defensive side, junior AJ Smith was named to the first team defense and on special teams senior Rohan Martin was named a second team return specialist.

Lara is a three-year letterman and returning starter coming off an excellent 2018 season in which he accumulated the second most catches and yards among receivers with 53 catches for 825 yards. He led the team in touchdown receptions with seven and earned the team’s longest reception of the year with a 72-yard touchdown catch against Samford. He produced four 100+ yard receiving games as a junior.

AJ Smith is a two-year letterman and returning starter that earned 2018 All-SoCon second team defense honors a year ago. The Academic All-American started all 11 games at safety a year ago extending his start streak to 18. He co-led the team in tackles with 90 for sixth in the league standing with 8.2 tackles per game.  He led the Keydet defense with 55 solo stops last season and broke up three passes during the season.

Udinski rewrote the season passing record book in 2018 by throwing for over 3,000 yards and became the first quarterback in school history to surpass the 3,000 yard threshold for a single season. He set season marks for completions (302), attempts (523), total plays (570) and tied the season mark for most touchdown passes in a season with 20. Udinski established VMI single game records for passing yards when he threw for 491 yards in VMI’s 52-50 loss at Western Carolina September 22 which also stood as the second most yards by a SoCon QB during the year.

Rohan Martin was a 2018 second team All-Socon specialist despite only playing in eight games due to injury. He tied for third on the team for the most receptions on the year with 30 to go with 252 yards and a touchdown. On special teams he averaged 15.9 yards per return in seven tries.

Western Carolina quarterback Tyrie Adams was named the preseason Offensive Player of the Year and defensive lineman Nasir Player of ETSU was named the preseason Defensive Player of the Year.


First Team Offense

QB           Tyrie Adams, R-Sr., Western Carolina

RB           Quay Holmes, R-So., ETSU

RB           Tyray Devezin, Jr., Mercer

OL           Bo Layton, R-Jr., Furman

OL           Austin Sanders, R-Sr., Mercer

OL           Nick Nixon, Sr., Samford

OL           Justus Basinger, Sr., Wofford

OL           Michael Ralph, Sr., Wofford

TE            Owen Cosenke, Jr., Western Carolina

WR          Bryce Nunnelly, Jr., Chattanooga

WR          Javeon Lara, Sr., VMI


First Team Defense

DL           Joseph Randall II, Sr., The Citadel

DL           Jason Maduafokwa, R-Sr., ETSU

DL           Nasir Player, R-Sr., ETSU

DL           Thad Mangum, Sr., Wofford

LB            Willie Eubanks III, Jr., The Citadel

LB            Adrian Hope, R-So., Furman

LB            Marshall Cooper, Sr., Chattanooga

DB           Tyree Robinson, Jr., ETSU

DB           Brandon Dowdell, Jr., Chattanooga

DB           Jerrell Lawson, R-Jr., Chattanooga

DB           A.J. Smith, Jr., VMI

DB           Ronald Kent Jr., So., Western Carolina


First Team Specialists

PK           Grayson Atkins, Jr., Furman

PK           Mitchell Fineran, So., Samford

P              Matthew Campbell, So., The Citadel

RS            David Durden, So., Mercer


Second Team Offense

QB           Reece Udinski, Jr., VMI

RB           Devin Wynn, Jr., Furman

RB           Tyrell Price, Sr., Chattanooga

OL           Haden Haas, R-So., The Citadel

OL           Drew McEntyre, Sr., The Citadel

OL           Ben Blackmon, R-Sr., ETSU

OL           Tre’mond Shorts, R-So., ETSU

OL           Andy Godwin, R-Sr., Furman

OL           Cole Strange, R-Jr., Chattanooga

OL           Blake Jeresaty, Jr., Wofford

TE            Chris Ellington, Sr., Mercer

WR          Thomas Gordon, Sr., Furman

WR          David Durden, So., Mercer



Second Team Defense

DL           Dorian Kithcart, R-Sr., Mercer

DL           Justin Foster, Sr., Samford

DL           Nelson Jordan, So., Samford

DL           Mikel Horton, Jr., Wofford

LB            Elijah McKoy, Jr., Furman

LB            Will Coneway, R-Sr., Mercer

LB            Jireh Wilson, Sr., Wofford

DB           Jeremy Lewis, Sr., ETSU

DB           Malique Fleming, R-Jr., Mercer

DB           Mason Alstatt, Sr., Wofford

DB           George Gbesee, Sr., Wofford


Second Team Specialists

PK           Jacob Godek, Sr., The Citadel

P              Luke Carter, Sr., Wofford

RS            Rohan Martin, Sr., VMI