Ann Named to SoCon All-Freshman Team
Courtesy: for VMI
Related Links

SPARTANBURG, S.C. – After a season of demonstrating great leadership ability at midfield, VMI men’s soccer freshman Pa-Alieu Ann was named to the Southern Conference All-Freshman team announced Tuesday afternoon.

The honor marks the first time a VMI men’s soccer player has received a SoCon postseason honor since rejoining the league three years ago. It is also the first time since 2013 when goalie Daniel Kitchen was tabbed honorable mention All-Big South Conference that a Keydet has been named to an all-conference team.

The team is selected by the league’s six head coaches.

“We took great strides as a program this year,” said VMI head coach Michael Bonelli. “We have a very talented young group of players that are going to elevate the status of our program over the next few years. Pa has emerged as a leader for our young team and performed at a very high level throughout the season. He is a versatile midfielder with great attributes on both sides of the ball. This honor is well-deserved and he has a bright future in our program.”

This season Ann was a member of VMI’s starting lineup for 17 of 18 games and took four shot attempts, including two against Gardner-Webb on September 16. He logged over 1000 minutes on the pitch during his freshman campaign.

2017 Men’s Soccer All-Conference Team
Player of the Year – Laurence Wyke, Jr., MF/D, Furman
Goalkeeper of the Year – Jonny Sutherland, Jr., ETSU
Coach of the Year – Bo Oshoniyi, ETSU
Freshman of the Year – Nelson Oceano, MF, UNCG

First Team
F Bruno Andrade, ETSU
F Fletcher Ekern, ETSU
F Will Bagrou, Mercer
F Lucas Altman, Wofford
MF Serge Gomis, ETSU
MF Laurence Wyke, Furman
MF Leeroy Maguraushe, UNCG
D Chase Clack, ETSU
D Kevin Edelmann, Furman
D Conner Antley, Mercer
GK Jonny Sutherland, ETSU

Second Team
F Danny Barlow, ETSU
F Cole McLagan, Furman
F Matt Mattis, UNCG
MF Jeffrey George, ETSU
MF Nick Spielman, ETSU
MF Danny Kierath, Furman
MF Nelson Oceano, UNCG
D Ben Holt, ETSU
D Kyle McLagan, Furman
D Trenton Whitely, Mercer
GK Ben Hale, Furman
GK Jeremy Booth, Mercer

All-Freshman Team
Danny Barlow, ETSU
Austin Bihlmeyer, ETSU
Ben Hale, Furman
Cole McLagan, Furman
Alex Henderson, UNCG
Nelson Oceano, UNCG
Cyril Owolabi, UNCG
Kareve Richards, Mercer
Leonel Toledo, Mercer
Zach Aversano, Wofford
Pa-Alieu Ann, VMI