Pita's Player of the Year Honor Headlines VaSID Awards
Courtesy: Southern Conference
Related Links

HAMPTON, Va. - Matt Pita was named Player of the Year, headlining the award winners on the 2018 Virginia Sports Information Directors (VaSID) All-State University Division Baseball Team, which was announced by the organization Monday.

Pita is the first VMI player - in any sport - to receive Player of the Year honors from VaSID, and he was joined by Collin Fleischer (DH) on the first team, while Peyton Maddox (C) and Nathan Eaton (UTIL) were selected on the second team.

Pita, who was named a Third Team All-American by ABCA in mid-June, hit .389 with 14 homers, 21 doubles, 48 RBI, 23 steals and 163 total bases in his final year as a Keydet. He was drafted the Yankees in the 12th round and recently began his pro career in the Gulf Coast League.

For Fleischer, Maddox and Eaton, the selection represents the first time any of the now-former Keydets were tabbed for all-state honors. Eaton earned Second Team utility selection after a season that saw him lead the SoCon in steals, and has since seen him move on to hit well over .300 in the Pioneer League. Fleischer became VMI's all-time home run leader in 2017, while Maddox hit over .300 and started all but four games behind the plate.

The Keydets' four selections were the second-most of any school, trailing only George Mason's five, and the four choices were also the most in school history, surpassing the three selections in 2010.

First Team
SP Derek Casey University of Virginia
SP Austin Ross Radford University
SP Connor Gillispie Virginia Commonwealth University
RP Andrew Abbott University of Virginia
RP Layne Looney University of Richmond
C Logan Driscoll George Mason University
1B Trevor Kelly George Mason University
2B Andy Weber University of Virginia
3B Culver Lamb Old Dominion University
SS Vinny Capra University of Richmond
OF Matt Pita Virginia Military Institute
OF D.J. Artis Liberty University
OF Justin Hayes Norfolk State University
DH Collin Fleischer Virginia Military Institute
UTI Tre Todd Liberty University

Second Team
SP Robbie Baker University of Richmond
SP Daniel Lynch University of Virginia
SP Zach Mort George Mason University
RP Mac McCarty Virginia Commonwealth University
RP Brett Ayer James Madison University
C Peyton Maddox Virginia Military Institute
1B Spencer Horwitz Radford University
2B Alsander Womack Norfolk State University
3B Sam Fragale Virginia Tech
SS Michael Smith George Mason University
OF Tyler Nelin George Mason University
OF Hogan Brown Virginia Commonwealth University
OF Andrew Szamski Radford University
DH Stephen Baughan Norfolk State University
UTI Nathan Eaton Virginia Military Institute