Men's Soccer Releases 2018 Schedule
Courtesy: SportsPhotoGuy.com for VMI
Related Links

LEXINGTON, Va. – With his staff and recruiting class lined up for the fall, VMI men's soccer head coach Michael Bonelli announced his team's 2018 schedule Thursday afternoon.

The Keydets open the season with four of the first five games of the season to be played at home on Patchin Field starting with Longwood on Friday, August. 24. Liberty comes to Lexington a few days later on August 28. Following a game at Appalachian State on September 1, the Keydets host two more games on September 7 and 9 versus Manhattan and Niagara, respectively.

“We are excited for the 2018 season,” Bonelli said. “We have a great group of focused returning student-athletes and a plethora of new, young and talented student-athletes coming in this fall. We believe our veteran leadership combined with all our new recruits should help bring VMI men's soccer to the next level.

“We have also put together a challenging non-conference schedule that will prepare our program for Southern Conference play."

The Keydets will play in five consecutive road contests starting Wednesday, Sept. 12 at Campbell. Over the course of the ensuing two weeks VMI will play at Gardner-Webb, Saint Joseph’s, Mount St. Mary’s and Howard.

On Tuesday, October 2, the Keydets will take on Regent University (Virginia Beach, Va.) to resume play at home.

Conference action begins Saturday, October 6, at home against Mercer for a 1 p.m. kick in Lexington. VMI then hits the road for two straight SoCon contests at ETSU (Oct. 9) and Furman (Oct. 13).

The Keydets also host UNCG on Tuesday, Oct. 16 and Wofford for Senior Day on October 23. Before finishing the regular season at SoCon newcomer Belmont in Nashville, Tennessee, the Keydets will face UNC Asheville for a non-league tilt on Saturday, Oct. 20.

2018 VMI Men’s Soccer Schedule

Fri., Aug. 24 … Longwood … Lexington, Va. … 4 p.m.

Tue., Aug. 28 … Liberty … Lexington, Va. … 4 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 1 … at Appalachian State … Boone, N.C. … 7 p.m.

Fri., Sept. 7 … Manhattan … Lexington, Va. … 4 p.m.

Sun., Sept. 9 … Niagara … Lexington, Va. … 1 p.m.

Wed., Sept. 12 … at Campbell … Buies Creek, N.C. … 7 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 15 … at Gardner-Webb … Boiling Springs, N.C. … 4 p.m.

Wed., Sept. 19 … at Saint Joseph’s … Philadelphia, Pa. … 7 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 22 … at Mount St. Mary’s … Emmitsburg, Md. … 7 p.m.

Sat., Sept. 29 … at Howard … Washington, D.C. … 7 p.m.

Tue., Oct. 2 … Regent … Lexington, Va. … 4 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 6 … Mercer* … Lexington, Va. … 1 p.m.

Tue., Oct. 9 … at ETSU* … Johnson City, Tenn. … 7 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 13 … at Furman* … Greenville, S.C. … 7 p.m.

Tue., Oct. 16 … UNCG* … Lexington, Va. … 3 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 20 … at UNC Asheville … Asheville, N.C.  … 6 p.m.

Tue., Oct. 23 … Wofford* … Lexington, Va. … 3 p.m.

Sat., Oct. 27 … at Belmont* … Nashville, Tenn. … TBA

*SoCon opponent